SYSOCMGR does not work via PSEXEC


No, it does not.In this article I showed how to use SYSOCMGR to install Windows optional components remotely and silently. I tested the script on my XP workstation and it was working. However, when I tried to install SNMP on Windows 2003 servers, I failed.

I have found that SYSOCMGR does not work via PSEXEC. I spent two days to find the reason and the solution. I still have no idea about the reason of such behaviour, but I have the solution. This is the SCHTASKS utility, which replaced AT.exe in Windows XP and Windows 2003.

Assumptions

  • We have a batch file containing all the commands including SYSOCMGR.
  • Batch file name is REMOTE.bat
  • Remote server name is WEBSERVER
  • The batch file is located on the WEBSERVER server in the C:\Temp folder

Commands

  • SCHTASKS /CREATE /S WEBSERVER /SC ONCE /RU “SYSTEM” /TN “My_Remote_Task” /TR “C:\Temp\Remote.bat” /ST 00:00:01
    The key point here is the start time (option /ST). Start time is today but in the past. Therefore, this scheduled task will never run
  • SCHTASKS /RUN /S WEBSERVER /TN “My_Remote_Task”
    This is how we run our batch file
  • SCHTASKS /QUERY /S WEBSERVER
    This command gives us the scheduled task status. Let’s wait until the task finishes
  • SCHTASKS /DELETE /S WEBSERVER /F /TN “My_Remote_Task”
    And now we can delete this task

The script implementing this approach is here

4 Responses to SYSOCMGR does not work via PSEXEC

  1. […] August 26, 2010 at 1:54 pm | #2 SYSOCMGR does not work via PSEXEC « Notes of Windows Admin […]

  2. .\psexec.exe -i 0 -s \\$server sysocmgr.exe /q /i:c:\windows\inf\sysoc.inf /u:c:\snmp.inf
    work over here 🙂

Leave a Reply

