.NET v4 Update Gives Error Code 643


During the .NET Framework v4 update installation I received the error code 643. Neither restart nor re-installation did help.

Short search in the internet brought me the following page:

When you try to install an update for the .NET Framework 1.0, 1.1, 2.0, 3.0, or 3.5, you may receive Windows Update error code “0x643” or Windows Installer error code “1603”

Method 1 did not work for me, however, method 2 pushed me to uninstall some stuff. I uninstalled .Net v1.1 and .NET v4.0. Then I installed v4.0 and the update was installed successfully. It did not even ask for restart. Then I just added v1.1 and all its updates.

Leave a Reply

