RDP Session Drops Wireless Connection on Windows Vista/Windows 7


My test laptop with Windows 7 Professional has been always connected to the network via wired Ethernet. Whenever I have needed to RDP into it, I easily could. However, last time I have used it in another office and have not connected to the cable when returned back to my desk. Big deal, I can always use its wireless connection for RDP. And guess what… I could not. My desktop dropped RDP connection, because laptop lost wireless connection. Every time. Local logon to laptop restored wireless connection, but another attempt to RDP to it killed wireless again.

Then I recalled that I had similar issue several years ago working with Windows Vista. I spent some time looking for any record of mine how to fix it and finally found!

Run Command Prompt as an administrator and run the following command:

netsh wlan show profiles

Find the profile name related to the wireless network you are on and run the following command:

netsh wlan delete profile name=”YourProfileName”

Now run

ncpa.cpl

and connect your wireless card to the same wireless network in order to recreate the deleted profile.

That’s it. Well, the issue stays the same and the fix still works

Leave a Reply

